University of Tulsa faculty receive 2017 OCAST awards for research

Faculty receive 2017 OCAST funding awards

University of Tulsa faculty have been awarded $1.2 million in funding from the Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology’s Oklahoma Applied Research Support and Intern programs. The 2017 OCAST Awards will support student and faculty research.

2017 ocast
Entrepreneur and alumnus Jonathan Torkelson (right) is a past OCAST intern and has hosted OCAST interns at his company.

The OARS initiative invests in innovative technologies with commercial potential to increase investment in the research and development of new technology. TU faculty also are responsible for winning OCAST Intern awards, which provide up to $30,000/year to Oklahoma businesses that host an undergraduate student researcher. Interns receive hands-on experience in a business environment while increasing collaboration between industry and academia.

Other funding opportunities from OCAST are the Oklahoma Health Research program, supporting basic projects related to human health; and Plant Science Research, which helps researchers gain expertise and data for basic research in plant productivity, renewable biomass, plant-based environmental applications and chemical platforms. The OARS and Intern programs require a 1:1 match to OCAST dollars from participating industry partners.

OCAST award winners among TU faculty include:

  • Joanne Davis, professor of psychology (Health Research) $134,932 (Kendall College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Hani Girgis, assistant professor of computer science, (Plant Science Research) $100,000
  • Siamack Shirazi, professor of mechanical engineering, (Applied Research with Total Valve Systems) $300,000
  • Kaveh Ashenayi, Hans S. Norberg Professor of Electrical Engineering, (intern with AAON Heating and Cooling Products) $31,700, (intern with Dentsply Sirona Endodontics) $15,850, (intern with HydroHoist Boat Lifts) $17,750
  • Keith Symcox, instructor of chemistry, (intern with Marshall Brewing Co.) $60,000
  • Surendra Singh, professor of electrical engineering, (intern with Oseco Rupture Disc Manufacturers) $60,000.